The new Photos app

Photos_App

Photo Stream was always clunky, Photos does it better. But there are significant issues with Photos, like the inability to drag and drop photos out of it into other apps.

Serious photographers will undoubtedly move to Adobe apps because Photos just isn’t going to cut it for them.  It is hard to understand why Apple have discontinued Aperture, it was a generally well-liked application among photographers.  Photos is good but it is not a professional grade app, it replaces iPhoto not Aperture.

For the average person who likes to take photos and have them on multiple devices this is far better than iPhoto.  The OS X app and its iOS counterparts sync everything, and I mean everything!  Videos, bursts, albums and edits all get synced.  This is all well and good, but you will need to pay for the iCloud storage, unless you take only small amounts of photos and videos (especially) before you deleting them after they have synced to your Mac perhaps.

I was already paying for cloud storage to back up my iPhoto library before the Mac Photos app became available.  After it became available I compared iCloud prices with what I was already paying.  Although iCloud is pricier per GB it was competitive in that I wasn’t using most of the storage I was paying for with Google, so I thought I would transfer to it as it is a more native solution.

So far I would say I’m happy with the move.  I like the ability to sync albums without having to create lots of iCloud albums that don’t function the same way.  Now all edits I make are visible on all devices and wherever each photo appears.

There is a niggle with the OS X app right now, and that is the lack of drag and drop capabilities.  In iPhoto it was possible to drag a photo out of the app and into another (e.g. Skitch), the image would be copied into the new app.  This is not possible in Photos (yet).  To achieve the same effect the image has to be exported to the desktop or similar and then copied into the other app.

All in all I think the move from iPhoto to Photos is a positive one, it’ll be interesting to see how it develops in the future.

What are your thoughts about the new app?

