UK iPad users rejoice! Apple Store app optimised for you.

It has been a very very long time in coming but Apple have finally optimised the Apple Store app for the iPad (in the UK).

IMG_0188.JPG
I accidentally came across this fact after adding the app to my iPad for a different reason after Apple updated it just now.  I thought I already had the app on my iPad but I didn’t so I went to the store. Bizarrely (with hindsight) when searching the UK App Store the app only showed up if I selected “iPhone only”. It does now show up as an iPad app.

Anyway I thought I was going to get the usual enlarged view when using an iPhone app on an iPad but I didn’t. Instead I was taken by surprise with a brand new set of custom views for the iPad!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My reason for installing the app in this case was the update claimed to enable the continuation of orders across devices, so I just wanted to see how that worked.  The update should allow the continuation of orders even between iOS and OS X devices, so Apple is likely hoping this app will be a good model of how to implement Continuity in iOS 8 and Yosemite.  I don’t do a lot of shopping at the Apple Store but this update for the iPad is well overdue. As you can see from the screenshots it is a good looking app: fresh and clean just as you’d expect from a true iOS 7 app. But of course this app is getting ready to welcome in iOS 8!

Will this update make any difference to you?

The iPad version has been available in the US for some time now. It seems that it has only become available in the UK today with the release of version 3.0.

